Basic Electrical Knowledge....Need Electrical Engineer Advice..

matab14

pop up and do less....
Established Member
I'm looking for some advice on how to pursue furthering my education. I am currently a Mechanical Engineer but want to expand my skills and learn a little more of the electrical side of things. I think it'll make me more well rounded and help a ton in my current career. I am only about 2 years out of school so I figured it would be good to try and take few classes on the side and maybe see if my employer would be willing to pay for it since we deal so much with electrical systems and software on top of Mechanical Design.

Guess my basic question is, should I just look at General Elec classes @ Comm College or are good online programs that are easy enough to follow that I could gain vast knowledge of how system loads work and generators make power to motors and what not???

Thanks in advance for any help! :beer:

Coiled03

Established Member
If you have a BSME, I'd go for a BSEE. You probably wouldn't have to take too many more courses to pick up another degree.

At least where I went to school, all the engineering programs had very similar classes all the way through sophmore year. In fact, sophmore year was identical for ME, and EE students. Things branched out a little more the last two years, but there was still some overlap. What I'm getting at is that you probably have a good portion of the classes for a BSEE taken care of.

matab14

pop up and do less....
Established Member
If you have a BSME, I'd go for a BSEE. You probably wouldn't have to take too many more courses to pick up another degree.