B cam?

GroundUp86Gt

Established Member
I was curious to what cam i should run in my bone stock 5.0. Im new to fords and 5.os and im wondering if i have to do anything (heads, rockers,etc) or change anything to put one in my car?..

mustangmanjeff

Established Member
You can,but you wont see any gains, the stock cam is pretty decent, the stock e7 heads and stock exaust is the "bottle neck" in the stock 5.0 cars, the cam and heads and stock 5.0 made torque and no horsepower, so good mods for these cars would be

1. gears

2. heads

3.exaust

so wait and do the cam and heads @ the same time make it worth the work to see gains, I didnt see a diff on the dyno with boltons and a cam vs my car with just bolt ons on stock heads, once I did the full h/c/i then I saw a 50+hp gain

Last edited:

GroundUp86Gt

Established Member
I'm gonna go with shorty bbk's, off road x, and the mac I already have. For the gears I'm gonna go with 4:10s. As far as the heads go I have no idea what to do.. thought about getting them ported but no sure, I'm sure you can get pretty decent heads for these cars. I plan on it being a bottle car.

GroundUp86Gt

Established Member
I also was told these 5.0s love a 150 shot, dude told me his bone stock 5.0 with a 150 shot and a radial went 12.50s all day long with absolutley nothing else done to it. I don't know how he did it without blowin it up

truebluedevil02

Captain Jackstands
Established Member
I also was told these 5.0s love a 150 shot, dude told me his bone stock 5.0 with a 150 shot and a radial went 12.50s all day long with absolutley nothing else done to it. I don't know how he did it without blowin it up

I have a nitrous kit for sale, just need to order a fuel injection spray nozel for it. Never installed $450 shipped. I also have a set of Mac shorties and BBK off road Hpipe for sale off my bolt on fox, will cut you a good deal on those as well. Let me know.