Auto ordnance 1911

blueovalfan

Established Member
My birthday is coming up next month so I stopped into my local gun shop. I live in a small town and this pop gun shop has been around a long time so I'd like to purchase from him. He has an Auto Ordnance 1911 in the case for 65x which from what I've seen online is high priced, comes with a case and I think 1 mag. I have heard horror stories about AO before kahr took over but have read a few decent reviews and was wondering what you guys thought about it. For his price range though I could probably get a Springfield Armory GI 1911 somewhere else so.....He also had a Glock 22 with a case and 3 mags for 499 which seems like the better deal. This would be my first gun but I have shot an AR-15, 357, and have hunted geese and pheasant with borrowed 12GA shotguns so I'm a newb who has shot a few times before. Really looking for reliability and ease of use with some fun at the range in mind for whatever I end up getting, no carry.

Last edited:

Fast99Snake

IRS'd GT
Established Member
I own a glock 22 and a 1911(although mine is made by Remington)

if your going to go with a 1911 step up and get a name brand. Probably going to cost over a G but well worth it.

I bought the glock as my first gun and 500 is about right for it. It's a great first gun, simple, reliable and inexpensive. I'd go with the glock personally for your situation.

blueovalfan

Established Member
I like the Glock but love the 1911's, the history, the look, they're just awesome pieces of US history. How do you like your Remington 1911?

EDIT-After doing more reading on the AO 1911 quality seems to be really hit or miss and I won't gamble on that. Even the "good" ones had to have some adjusting to be right, and at this point that type of work is above my skill level. Its between the Glock 22 and the Springfield GI 1911 now but I'd be open to other suggestions.

Last edited:

AluminatorSnake

Established Member