Attempting to perform my first paint correction on 03 black cobra.

StannggerrEd

Established Member
Okay guys. I have been using Zaino car wax on my car for the past 4 years and really want to change it up a bit. I was wondering if someone could give me insight on paint correction. Yes this is my first time doing a paint correction on my car (which is black).

I guess going to my questions;

What kind of products do you all use for a dark
Color car? It seems like there are so many combos out there and everyone is using something different.

Also I understand the steps would be compound, glaze, wax, and seal but it seems like some people use 2 compounds skip the glaze then just wax it maybe seal if they have time.

Sorry guys I am new to this and really would like to ask the members for some insight.

Thanks

jdcobra

Established Member
It really just depends on how bad the paint is. There is always different tools for each job (pads, product, and machine). Could you snap some close up pics of the car and post them up?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

StannggerrEd

Established Member
The paint seems to have minor swirls and scratches. I can definitely send a picture once I get home. Thank you.

Joeski

Established Member
If you have access to a DA then use it. Since you said they were minor i would start with a product thats not harsh. Megs Swirl X for example. If that doesnt work you could move up in pad or product. Leys say you used a polishing pad. You may find the same product with a cutting/compounding pad might work. You always want to start with the mildest product and work your way up.

hoamskilet

Established Member