Architects & Engineers: Question

2014GT

Established Member
Long story short, I've been in the petroleum, mechanical, civil, structural, pipe, and 3D drafting for about 8 years. I've done tons of design work, planning, topographic, etc, all kinds of junk.

I've been approached by the owner of the company I'm with now to start producing house plans. I've never done house plans. Looking for a good software to start with that is fairly user friendly.

Is this something that I should be able to pick up fairly easily? I know you need to know lots of basic little details just like any other type of design work.

Just looking for input from guys that might have done this type of work before. Any input would be appreciated.

Mattio

Established Member
Seems as though you are well rounded in design however with 8 years of experience and 5 different practices; how well rounded are you really?
I've been a mechanical/piping designer for 12 years now and got started in design with architecture. Home design is cake compared to anything ive done marine/offshore. Getting familiar with building codes and staying up to date would be the first challenge. Ive played around with 3D home design and created entire custom homes complete with furniture and electrical diagrams in a matter of hours. Give it a shot, bet you'll enjoy it.

2014GT

Established Member
I started in civil design work about 8-10 years ago. I've been doing oil/gas design work and permitting plats for Exxon and similar companies and working with their engineers and geologists developing wells. I've been doing this while working for a surveying and civil engineering company so naturally I've been pushed into producing site plans and basic civil design work and topographic.

Since it's a rather diverse company I've done a good bit of mechanical for them as well as side work for myself. Actually mechanical design is where I started when I was younger.