Applying/Driving Record Question (LEO Only Please)

bandit_48032

Established Member
I'm in the process of applying to a few different departments right now and I have a question about my driving record.

I have had two moving violations (Michigan)

1st. = 75/25 (Sept. 2004)
2nd. = 40/35 (Aug. 2005)

The first ticket was pure stupidity on my part and I was trying to impress a bunch of sorority girls on the sides of the road my freshman year in College. The officer let me slide without a "Reckless Driving" and only wrote me up as a normal speeding ticket.

The second ticket was just a bunch of crap and I guess the officer was just having a bad day. haha

Other than the two moving violations I have never been in any kind of legal trouble or had any record of anything what so ever. I'm a non-drinker, and have never even experimented with any kind of illegal narcotic.

I'm a third year college student with 49 earned credits. By the time the departments plan on doing their hiring I will have 60+ earned credits. My major is Sociology with a Concentration in Criminal Justice and my minor is Psychology. I also work part time at a Juvenile Detention Facility.

Is it even worth my time applying for a job as a police officer? Should I give up my hopes and dreams or do I still stand some chance at having a career in Law Enforcement?

I'm living in Michigan right now but applying to departments out of state. Law Enforcement jobs in the state of Michigan are close to none right now. Even if people are getting jobs they're mostly part-time. The departments that I'm applying for are also hiring in mass-quantity and run their own police academy. Most of which don't take lateral transfers. So I'll have to go through their academy regardless, which is a good thing without having the academy under my belt yet.

Please give me some feedback.....feeling kind of in the dumps today so some positive encouragement would be great.

jurob

Established Member