Anyone ever run the Silver State Classic or Nevada Open Road Challenge?

Poolman

Established Member
Anyone ever run either of these events? Bucket list thing that I will do this year. Wife says "are you asking me or telling me?" She is a good one, very tolerant, met when we were 14, in '75.

The Open Road Challenge is in May '16, then Silver State Classic in Sept.
Check it out: http://www.silverstateclassic.com/

Planning to run the 04 Cobra. Its orange and I am a Clemson grad and all that. Since this would be my first time in the event, rule is you have to run in the Touring class, max speed limit is 125, its a time trial event for everyone but the unlimited class. So its 90 miles at 120-125 mph. I have been doing HPDE events since 1999, lots of tracks, much higher speeds.

Event is in Ely, NV, elevation is some 6,400 ft. ? Get a tune for that elevation? Have a tuner with the car, so think that's possible. Personally never been up that high when not in a plane, can you breathe up there? Will bring grandma's oxygen rig. :)

Cobra has very low miles, so will trailer from SC to Vegas, run the May event, store the car and truck/trailer in Nevada, fly home for $250, fly back in September ($250) for that event and then trailer back home. Located a reasonable Vegas self storage center. It's 2400 miles from Myrtle Beach to Vegas. Someone shoot a hole in this plan, as I am no longer unbiased.

Thought about just driving the car out and back, but it only has 20,800 miles. Too much.

$5000 to ship the car out and back on a enclosed transport. A few days of towing the car out and back now doesn't seem so bad, and get to see some of the country, sample some truck stop food, and maybe see some big ball of twine or something.