Anyone ever go to bartending school?

Euphoric One

Uncommon Sense
Established Member
So over the course of the past year, I've been pondering picking up a part-time bartending job on the weekend. This is based on the assumption I could pick-up an extra $600-1000 in cash per month to help expedite some of the many home improvement/refurnishing projects I have going on right now.

The problem is I have no bartending experience and I'm a male. A friend of a friend advised bartending school since they sometimes have job placement and I would also know how to do the job well instead of starting completely green somewhere.

What of it? :beer:

upside

AWD V8
Established Member
for the low cost of it and short time it takes to obtain a mixology certification i would say go for it.

i was thinking about doing it at one point but due to the fact i worked for a brewery i was not allowed to do so.

but i asked a few bar owners and managers if they would consider someone with a mixology cert over a busty brunet lush and most of them said they would consider bolth the same.

but the busty lush would win the job hands down if i were not to have any experience at all.

im still considering it but i cant stand the bar/club scene.

Last edited:

canibus

Established Member
it's a great way to start, but experience is what gets you the job. You'll probably still be placed as a barback for a bit, or as the bartender during the week. The money is great, but location also has a lot to do with it.

Euphoric One

Uncommon Sense
Established Member
it's a great way to start, but experience is what gets you the job. You'll probably still be placed as a barback for a bit, or as the bartender during the week. The money is great, but location also has a lot to do with it.

Yeah, I'm only willing to do it part time on the weekends, so that may be a killer for me. I wouldn't mind starting in a dive though, just to get a feel.

Seems like it could be fun.

Dusten

Established Member