Anyone catch onto the spinning top EDC craze?

byeofcr

Established Member
Stumbled across it by accident looking at knives (my other passion). So apparently spinning tops, but like cnc'd precision tops capable of spins near 20 minutes long for some, has become a thing. Im new to it, not sure how long its been popular with the everyday carry crowd but ive seen a few pocket dump posts on IG and noticed more and more people carrying tops.
Being a fan of precisely machined things ive been looking around and following some makers when i came across billetspin. The owner rich makes a design, releases it in limited numbers, and then never makes that design again. I missed his other sales so figured id keep an eye on anything upcoming.
Well i guess now im into the spinning top thing because i ordered one this morning. Not just that, woke up at the ass crack of dawn to try to get one of the super rare ones made from Timascus. Sold out in seconds. Last i checked in an hour he had 280k in sales.. On tops. Grown men like myself spending 200+ on a childs toy lol. So i settled on a limited of 1 of 25 twisted damascus outer, tungsten copper inner and stainless stem.
The resale market is even more sick, Ive already seen people make 4 digit offers on the timascus ones i couldnt get.
Fornthose interested, hes selling same model in "standard" materials (stainless, brass, copper) for another 2 weeks
Looking forward to spinning this thing and launching it onto my floor.
46B8D36E-A3EA-442D-87EA-C33055252BD3.jpg

List of the others
Bottom three is what everyone was after
0250A7C5-9AA7-423B-9D0F-89DEFF4F3727.jpg

Standards
A2A031A4-FFC6-4A90-B04C-817B540C4873.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

byeofcr

Established Member
^^ lol exactly. My wife was like "ok leo...get your toy"

Another view of the k2 or kraken 2
A3F3939A-453F-4A0A-8262-940238327B4C.jpg

Supposedly a decent spinner but more of a looker..

byeofcr

Established Member