Any guys/gals in the USAF?

LightningLou

Established Member
I'm highly considering joining and have been meeting with a recruiter lately. Just wondering if any members here were or still are part of the US air force. What do you think of it? I'd like to start out as an Avionics Tech. and finish up my degrees, become an officer, and possibly a fighter pilot in the future. Let me know what you think. Thanks. -Lou

Last edited:

Mike K

مسافر عالمي
Established Member
I loved it... did my time, got out, and now I am a civilian contractor. I was a heavy equipment (vehicle) mechanic.

LightningLou

Established Member
How hard was it to get a job once you got out? What base were you at and how'dd you like it? Just trying to plan for my future a bit. Thanks for the reply man. I love ure sig btw.

Last edited:

matchb0x

I'm a grown ass man!
Established Member
Back in the states aka 'the land of liberals'
i was an electrical/environmental tech. and i have a week of terminal leave left and than im done forever. avionics is the way to go if you are gonna go aircraft btw. e/e doesnt directly translate to civilian sector unfortunately. you will have a crap tone of study material as avionics but in the end you will learn a lot of have a huge number of jobs waiting on ya.

Mike K

مسافر عالمي
Established Member
How hard was it to get a job once you got out? What base were you at and how'dd you like it? Just trying to plan for my future a bit. Thanks for the reply man. I love ure sig btw.

I did most of my time at Dover AFB, most people dont like it but my dad retired there and i was lucky enough to get back there. I deployed to Oman and Kuwait while I was there, then did my year in Kunsan Korea. Korea was teh last place before i got out.

It wasn't hard to find a job in the states, i just couldnt find one that payed well. Just about every place i inverviewed with liked seeing military service on my resume.