Any fan / intercooler pump mods?

Brands5.0

Established Member
Being from Florida id like to be able to cool my car down as fast as I can. I am not really good at figuring electrical stuff out but what would be in evolved in being able to have the fan come on when the engine is off. Also does any one know if the intercooler pump and the fan can run the same way to help the car cool off.

Is there a T-stat in the intercooler?

Brandon

SlowSVT

Established Member
The intercooler has absolutly nothing to do with cooling the engine. No thermostat in the intercooler system either.

Why would you want the fan to come on after the engine is shut off? That would only cool the water in the radiator since the water pump is not cirulating it through the engine. The engine does not get hotter after you shut it down. I will heat soak where the heat from the hotter sections of the engine propagate to the cooler sections from the lack of coolant circulating through the engine.

I have not heard of any cooling issues with the GT500. Unless your over heating I don't think you have to worry about the cooling system

Your looking at all the wrong approaches in aiding the engine cooling. The first place I would look is a bigger radiator which I'm not sure if one is available or if it's even needed.

Greg@RET

Established Member
The stock radiator is pretty big, so I wouldnt worry about that.

100_3973.gif

TAHOE GT

Established Member
I did that write-up before I saw the little switches that Evolution installed in their interior light panel. (No clue what post it was in, but they had 3 or 4 switches for various things, incl. the fan.) I might change my switch to that location someday. The switch doesn't carry a significant load, so event the smallest (micro) switch will work. It's only providing an alternative ground instead of the ground in the PCM.

TAHOE GT

Established Member