Any Engineers out there?

94svtfang

EMT.Broke.Tired.Student
Established Member
Just wondering if any of you fine men and women are in the field of engineering. And if so, could you offer any tips to a first year engineering student? In the perspective of looking back on things.

"If I could go back to my first/second year of college I would have...."

Very general question, I'm just really trying to learn a thing or two..

Thanks for your input.

Condor21

Established Member
Mechanical Engineering Technology Degree. If I could go back I'd look into a co-op or internship before I graduated. Spend a little more time studying. Thats all I can think of at the moment.

Satyr

Established Member
Step 1: Learn how to do research.

For example, before posting this thread, you could have navigated to the search function and looked for topics with "engineer" in them. You would find that there are 1) lots of engineers on these boards; and 2) many threads that have covered a similar question to what you've asked.

Though, to answer your question as generally as it's presented, study hard and graduate with a solid GPA and be sure to do a co-op/internship/whatever your school calls it. I can't really see any advice being too much more informative than that.

Good luck.

10splaya22

Established Member
I'm a Senior and graduating in 2 months. Definitely get a Co-op/internship no matter what. It helps tremendously. Also a good GPA is important as well. Many companies have a cutoff at 3.0.

One thing I wish I started doing earlier is working with a design team. I did Baja SAE as my senior design project. If I started my Freshman year I would definitely have a better GPA and would have more experience machining/welding. I'm not sure if your school has something like Formula or Baja though.

94svtfang

EMT.Broke.Tired.Student
Established Member