Any Electricians???

KduncSS

Ille qui nos omnes servab
Established Member
I am currently at a crossroads. I am a 20 year old high school graduate with 1.5 semesters of college under my belt. I currently have a full time job with a company making around 30-35k a year, and am not enrolled in school. Im not sure if I will ever go back either. I have a chance to enter into an Electrician apprenticeship for 5 years. They will send me to school and ofcourse have on the job training. One drawback is I will only be making 20-25k for the next year or so if I start, but I have the potential to make alot more money in my future than my current job. Any electricians out there have any input? The company is a pretty big one, and I wont have to work for them for any amount of time after I get my license which is a good thing. Sorry for the long post, but Im not sure what I should do.

aoc racer

Ford is hella cool
Established Member
Im no electrician but thing is for sure is that mostly everyone has to start from the bottom and work there way up.

ModMike1572

Established Member
I used to work as an electricians helper after college. I wanted to eventually one day have my own busniess. (They do make good money). My boss was making around 70k a year.
i got burned out doing it after about a year. I couldnt stand the crawl spaces every day. i decided i like being on level ground better and nwver looked back.

RDJ

ZERO shits given
Established Member
Electrician is one job that will NOT get shipped overseas. People who have old houses always need things done ... you will rarely, if ever, be out of work. Most of the time by the time you get to the house it is at least dried in so while it may be cold or hot you will at least usually be dry.

I am NOT an electrician but I have done the work before. it really isn't a bad job at all. and if they are willing to pay for your education .. you should jump at it asssuming you can afford to live on the 2o-25k for the first year or so.