Alt issue?

whi tri

Established Member
So I'm curious if I have a ford reman alternator problem. My combo is 2.8 4# lower and a 3.2 alt pulley. Normal driving I see anywhere between 12.5 -13.6 never 14 and never 11. Now at wot it doesn't always go to the higher side of the scale but also doesn't go lower either just always somewhere in the middle. Also at wot my a/f are normal so I'm not thinking it's going lean but would think that a brand new alt from ford and a new battery to boot would keep me a little higher maybe 13.8 -14.4. And volts threw my scanner at PCM are always .5 volts lower then actual system charging rate. So the scanner says 13.5 at PCM and voltmeter at battery and alt are 14.0

whi tri

Established Member
My tuner doesn't agree and this is why I'm concerned. And it doesn't help that I'm a mechanic and no other car that I can think of is allowed to charge 12v. It just doesn't make since that these cars don't charge 13.8 to 14.5

JRS03

Whipple FTW!!!!
Established Member
Mine stays around 13-13.5 at all times Via Aeroforce gauge which reads from the PCM. At a full charge my Optima only reads like 13 volts, I usually keep it on a trickle charger because it doesn't get driven as often and Optimas discharge pretty quick.

Wicked46

Under Pressure
Established Member
It should charge higher, but like I said, if you dont go below 12V then your fine. I think your tuner is being cautious which isn't a bad thing. You probably have a bad rectifier plate with some weak diodes. If you have a place local that rebuilds them, have it checked. Or, send me your alternator and I can have my guy do it. Mine charges over 14 Volts.

whi tri

Established Member