All of these war threads...

04 Redline

Established Member
Kinda long, but chime in on what you think.
I studied history in college and came to this conclusion of the human race.
We are war driven people. We live for conflict, revel in power, and crave more. It may be seen as a flaw in today's times, but unfortunatly it is survival. We are extremely territorial and protective of what we think is ours.

Forget religion for one second. As the human species evolved, we were not the strongest species around. There were other types of "humans" around, who shared some traits with the homosapian species, and in turn had to survive in many of the same ways. The most known rival to the homosapians of course were the neanderthals (spelling?). Although they were stronger physically than the homosapians, they lacked the cerebrum. The Sapians then designed tools/weapons to defeat the stronger foes, and adopted more efficient survival methods. So, they were eliminated by the sapians as they most likely were considered competition.

As is soon came to be as the Sapians were the only human species around, clans or tribes sprang, being led by superiors. So, in turn those unwilling to fight decided to venture off and create/lead their own.

I consider us to be animals who are territorial. It is an instinct that we all posses because we would not be here unless it was present. Jealousy, rage, adrenaline, love, and pride.

Wars will not stop. They won't. As an established society, it is difficult for us to understand this because of all that we have. Our ancesters fought the fight for us and have given us this land of milk and honey of America. I despise war, even cowardish resorts of it (terrorism), but the simple fact is we got it right here and over there it is not. The balance of freedom and order is correct within reason in America, but lacking elsewhere.