Air Compressor gurus help!!

mbreaux05

Established Member
Hello everyone,

I need some help on an air compressor issue. I'm new to them, so hopefully its a easy fix I just don't know about, or maybe i'm doing something wrong.

I have a 2HP, 5 GAL KOBALT air compressor, with 50ft 3/4 in hose. The tank has 2 gauges, 1 for tank PSI, and one to set fpr tool PSI. These is also 2 quick connects on the compressor, allowing for 2 tool use at the same time (i'd never use this feature). Here is my problem, I set the tool PSI gauge to 90 ( I have an 3/8 impact and ratchet that Im trying to use, that work at 90psi), but when I use the tool, the PSI drops down to 50, thus causing the tool to not work how it should. I raised the tool PSI gauge to 120, hoping when I would use it, it would drop to the standard 90. No matter what PSI I put the tool setting to, it drops to 50 if I use the tool.

I use this simply to work on my car, so I didn't need a huge compressor or anything. But when it drops to 50, it wont even break the lug nuts!!

blkGT500nCA

Established Member
Sounds to me like the tool either has a regulator on it, or it requires more CFM's than your machine produces.

A long skinny hose could be the culprit too.

Montana

Ford and Mopar Guy
Established Member
Does the compressor pretty much run non stop? 5 gal. is not very big for heavy tool usage.

97cobraconvert

Established Member
Ur compresser is too small to run air tools. 3/4" hose will increase your overall volume, but your tool uses that volume too quickly. 1/4" hose will increase your cfm, but it also lowers the overall volume. But either way you'll need a bigger compresser for air tools. We have a 20 gallon, and it struggles with some tools.

oldmodman

Established Member
Sounds to me like the tool either has a regulator on it, or it requires more CFM's than your machine produces.

This^