A strange shimmy

4banger87

Hey guys/gals, a newbie here.

So I purchased a 1997 cobra it's got 113k on it and it runs really good. It's got the famous "thump" when taking off, from searching on here I'm thinking it's probably due new control arm bushings but I'll probably go ahead and upgrade them.

Now the strange thing that I'm hoping y'all can help me out with is the weird shimmy. So to get home I make a right hand turn up a hill which flexes the suspension probably to the max cuz the hill is pretty steep. When I make the turn I get a thump from the rear and once I've straighten up the car does a weird side to side shimmy, at the same time it also feels like it's surging front to back. This turn to get home is the only time I've noticed the shimmy or the surging. I'm climbing the hill in 1st gear if that matters. By the time I get to the top of the hill the shimmy has stopped and shortly after the surging back and forth feeling has stopped. I dunno if this is the axle getting realigned after some weird flexing or what..

Today when I leave and come back I'm gonna swing wide and try to hit the hill more head on and see if that helps. Other than this the car seems to runs very good and has plenty of power.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post and I look forward to making some friends here!

4banger87

So I jacked the car up today (gotta get a new jack) to make sure nothing was super loose and about to fall apart lol.

Questions

How much play should the control arms have in them?? I stuck my 18" pry bar in them and they twist with little force. The side I can see still appears to have the bushing in it.

Also while I had it on jack stands I repeatedly put it in gear in 1st and reverse and let off the clutch it didn't thump not one time...