A possible Navy phony...can someone answer a few questions for me?

96project

Established Member
Not in the navy, but it's pretty strange to only have one uniform?? Plus, if hes active duty they wouldn't let him be home going to school full time and have a civilian job. Reserve component, yes.. but not active duty. As far as the "deployment".. yeah his unit could know that they were planning a deployment that far in advance.. but you don't "deploy" to japan. I would think he could be stationed in japan, but a deployment would be on a ship or sub for 6 months or to the middle east. I could be wrong, hopefully a navy person will chime in. But it sounds kinda fishy to me also.

Nvr_Spds

Pushrod > 4v
Established Member
First, feel free to take the smiley face off this ****tard's picture.

I was active Navy for 5 years, and Inactive Reserve for 3. Im no expert, but I know a thing or two.

1. He is supposedly stationed in Hawaii, but is in Arkansas 'on leave' to work full-time at a civilian job, as well as going to college.

**** no.. If he is Stationed in Hawaii, thats where he lives, thats where he works. He could be on leave, but theres no way in hell he can attend school and work full time while just on leave. He might be a reservist, but Im pretty sure he wouldnt be "stationed" in HI if he lives in Arkansas

2. He is an E-3 with 3 years Time In Service, yet only has 2 ribbons.

It is possible to be an E-3 with 3 years. Starting at E-1, it takes 18 months to make E-3 IIRC, then another 6 months to be eligible for the E-4 exam, so basically 24 months before your E4 eligible. Either he wasnt advanced, or he was, then got knocked back down. That still doesnt explain why, in the picture, that there is no rating/rank badge, or unit rocker on "his" uniform.