A/F ratio Q?

lgn_carter

Shenaniganz
Established Member
This is deffinately a Noob question, ive searched for the better part of 2 hours and cant find it.

when monitoring your A/f Ratio, Say on a 2000 L' with a 4# lower,

how do i know when to back off? what is the dangerous ratio at WOT, or simply 2nd gear?

i'm new to the Boost world and i read the FAQ and he said the most important thing is to monitor your A/F ratio (not a direct quote) but i dont know what is good and/or bad.

any input would be greatly appreciated, or if someone could kindly direct me to a Thread.

thanks guys:beer:

MJG

Established Member
Ideal A/F ratio when in WOT on your guage should be in the 11.6-11.7 range.
If you notice you are WOT and above that, say 12.3 or something, back off.
In cooler months, have a richer tune ready.

wydopnthrtl

Established Member
On a 4lb non-ported eaton low 12s is "safe". IMO I'd not be at WOT if seeing anything higher than a 13.0 when above 3500rpms. If your seeing 14s.. get the tune adjusted and stay out of it until you do.

Rich

lgn_carter

Shenaniganz
Established Member
so when im not in WOT it should be well under 12s?

...and what does IMO mean!!?!?!? been tryin to figure that out for a while!!

mcarbine

2003 L #2504
Established Member
IMO=in my opinion When you are just cruising around you want to be as close to 14.7 as possible which is stoicheometric (sp?). My wideband will fluctuate between about 14.5-15.2ish when idling and when Im cruising it bounces around a tad more but still averages about 14.7. Oh and WOT Im about 11.5-11.8

MJG

Established Member
Yes 14-15 under regular driving is ideal, and mid to high 11s when WOT.
This does not mean your bullet proof either, fuel pressure guage etc would also be a good idea

uncooked

Established Member
My 4lb lower canned diablo tune ( Innovate LC-1 WB) hovers around 14.0 - 14.4 cruising around with very light throttle. When I go WOT its rich, around 11.0.

:beer:

ZZZZAP

Striking twice