99 COBRA pretty stock need some advice!

99electricgreen

Established Member
have a 99 cobra with brand new motor less than 1000 miles with the basic bolt ons bbk long tubes cai slp loudmouth exhaust hi-flow cats and that is it. Also i have a steeda short throw shifter. I am wanting to get a little more power without having to spend 1000's any ideas. I just bought the car 2 months ago and it spent the first month at ford getting the new motor put in after it threw a spark plug! So I am new to the COBRA game and any ideas or suggestions would be welcome!!!!!! Thanks in advance!:beer::banana:

Last edited:

stang8762

Established Member
Since you already have Long tubes and exhaust i would do :

Gears !!!!
JLT Intake
March pulleys
Tune
MGW shifter

Not all in that order but gears really make a difference

99electricgreen

Established Member
it is my daily driver so you think gears are a good idea? also how much would a set of march pulleys run me?

01 Venom

Established Member
For sure 100% do gears, I would do 4.10s for a daily, maybe 4.30s, you wont regret it.

A good shifter and a tune would be my next mods

stang8762

Established Member
Mine is a daily driver and w/ the stock gears after a while it feels like a turd but maybe im used to it . Im sure someone else will chime in but Gears are very important for these cars to get them into the power band quicker. It can cost a little bit but well worth it . There are numerous gear threads that should give you some ideas but any where from 4.10-430s are good for a daily driver.

As far as the pulleys summit sells them for a pretty good price:Both are suppose to give you a pretty good hp bump all that matters is if you want the rest of your pulleys to match b/c one comes w/ just the Damper and the other w/ pulleys and damper. The damper is what gives you the hp

whole kit
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=MCH-1175&N=700+0&autoview=sku

Just Damper-