97 cobra exhaust questions...

Murphy153

Established Member
Hey everyone. I am new to cobras. I have had two ws6 trans ams and a ss camaro so this is my first ford. I have a 97 cobra black vert that is mostly stock with the exception of a few mods. i want to upgrade my exhaust and at a not so expensive way. it has flow masters on it right now but not x or aftermarket h. i was thinking about adding a bbk O/R H pipe would that make it sound alot meaner? or should i just go ahead and save for a borla or magna full cat exhaust system???
Ill put up pictures of her soon. anything would be helpful. thanks everyone!:banana:

greenscobie86

Established Member
Congrats on coming over from catfish land :)

I'd get a UPR since its a true X-pipe and not a clamshell design like the BBK, will probably be cheaper too. If you look you can score one on eBay for like $120 new.

bornatiger

Established Member
I just put a Dr. Gas True X on with my 40 series and after 3k rpms it screams like a raped ape.:rockon: The sound is amazing!

dutch

LOL Europe
Established Member
o/r X + flows = rasp

o/r H would sound good. I had good luck with the cheap summit racing one on my '94 5.0

RIO RED SNAKE

4:10's = The Suck
Established Member
no, the biggest difference is the sound...the x pipe is supposed to give more hp/tq up top, where the h pipe is all down low, i am talking 1hp and 2lb ft of torque here, so go with what ever is cheapest

DVJ38

One mod at a time
Established Member
X pipe will scream up top, but sound less muscular. H pipe will sound more deep and muscular, but wont really scream up top. I love my exhaust combo fwiw. I'm a fan of H-pipes on pushrods, and X-pipes on modular motors.

97 Nightmare

Established Member
I have kooks headers/x pipe and mac flow path mufflers and people say they can hear me coming from a literal mile away. Nothin like that 4v sound up top.

Cory

AZSN95SNAKE

Established Member
Load some vids? And where are the pics???