5 point harness belt installation help

WhiteSnakeEyes

Established Member
Alright, I'm new at this and maybe I'm just not doing it right...but when I started installing the 5 point belts and adjusted them about where they need to go....i have ALOT of excess belt left over on the other side. For instance on the shoulder belts, after I wrap them around the harness bar I have about 3.5ft. of belt left over tht just hangs behind the seat. Same for the 2 lap belts but it's not as bad as the shoulder ones. I didn't figure I was suppose to cut any off, so what do I do with the excess? BTW, these are Corbeau 3in. belts with the camlock. Any help or even pics for reference would be great!

Wynn

Wants 11's
Established Member
idk but i'd imagine you could trim the edges then burn them... wait for the experts tho lol

98 Saleen Cobra

Established Member
Here's what I did. I'm not to sure what you're talking about mine are all even, just get it as close as you can and you should have the same amount of extra belt on either side..
DSCN0215.jpg
[/IMG]
DSCN0217.jpg
[/IMG]

WhiteSnakeEyes

Established Member
ok...well maybe I'm doing it completely wrong. I took the mounting bracket off the shoulder straps and was mounting it to the harness bar. Should I be mounting it elsewhere and just wrapping it around the harness bar? The excess of the belt is behind the seat..it's what's left over after I wrap mounted it on the harness bar. I attached a photo of how I mounted it and also a pic of the excess belt.

TheCobra064.jpg

TheCobra065.jpg

98 Saleen Cobra

Established Member
yea that is way to much slack.. what you need to do is set it up to where the part that buckles in is touching the bottom of the seat. You want lots of slack on the shoulder harnesses so then it will accomodate different sized people. then you will have less slack.

WhiteSnakeEyes

Established Member