3 Trannys 2600M, Help/Advice Please. Long

ltv1

Established Member
Sorry for the long post.

I joined and posted here because the knowledge base and membership is huge. I am basically a lurker, as I am not a mechanic, just an enthusiast. I read and learn.

Since my wife traded in her 2001 for the 2003 we have regretted it ever since. Sure, the engine is awesome. It helps though if you can put that power thru a transmission and to the street.

The 2003 has 2600 miles on it, and after it is flat bedded off tomorrow it will be going on its third tranny. I don't recall taking the 2001 in for anything other than routine stuff.

If this has happened to anyone with a T-56 please let me know. Or advice on how to dump this lemon. Lemon Law or whatever. Or how to fix it to wail on it. Anything.

It will semi-shift when cold, problem gets much worse when hot. Worse to the point you wonder if you can get home. Loud clutch/flywheel noise. Forget about performance driving. It has a Pro 5.0 shifter. Only mods are KN, Dr. Gas X-pipe and Delta Flows.

It kind of blows that we got a lemon, because even when it gets back from Ford, I am going to be too paranoid to stomp on it, or even drive it. My wife bought it and is far from as demanding on cars as me.

The car has never had slicks on it, been to the track or beat, other than an occasional drop in race against Camaro's yet the half shafts sound like Mexican Jumping Beans.

If the FUBAR engine stuff is true, that is the icing on the cake. I am not even really that angry, just disappointed. 35K for a shop queen. This was probably going to be my last fast car. A truck is far more practical, and they ain’t cheap no more either.

Thanks in advance for any responses, Larry.

NetworkingGuru

Established Member
Lemon law in most states is "three strikes and you're out". If Ford doesn't conclusively fix your tranny problem this time, call the number...Not sure how you break 3 T56's though....That's rough. Good Luck man.

Cobra'03