2013 hood weight vs glass

67bigblock

Established Member
1. What does the OEM hood weigh?
2. Has anyone weighed a glass or Carbon Fiber hood to see how much the weight savings might be?
Thnx

86Fbody

Established Member
Tiger racing FG hood is 17 pounds I believe and the CF version is 8, I would say the stock hood probably weighs 25 or so pounds.

86Fbody

Established Member
Can't speak for other hoods, however the Tiger hood was designed, I am assuming, for more front end down force. Same one used on all of the 2012 302S cars.

67bigblock

Established Member
It's my understanding that the 2012 use Tiger hood was used for airflow to help cool the engine.
The 2013 hoods were already vented so that's why the 2013 S cars got the stock hood.
That's what I was told.
The wing and splitter are providing downforce .
I'm no expert,..just repeating what I have heard.

mufflerbearing

Established Member
The vents in the hood create a lot of downforce. When the air comes through the radiator with a solid hood, it is deflected down under the car creating lift. It is a great design and that is why we are seeing this more and more on high performance sports cars in stock form.

pufferfish

Established Member
I will bet you will see a tiger hood made for '13+ soon. Those vents are a joke. Muff-brg is right. Radiator flow has to go somewhere. Could your radiator be cooled by the 2 vents if they were the openings in front? Nope! So, the air flow goes down, causing lift. The way to correct this is with a splitter that scrapes the Tarmac. It will prevent air flow under the car that the radiator flow can the use for an escape path without imposing lift.

86Fbody

Established Member
It's my understanding that the 2012 use Tiger hood was used for airflow to help cool the engine.
The 2013 hoods were already vented so that's why the 2013 S cars got the stock hood.
That's what I was told.
The wing and splitter are providing downforce .
I'm no expert,..just repeating what I have heard.