2002 mustang 2v build NEED HELP!!

kirbyVA

Established Member
TRYING to build my 2002 mustang gt up without breaking the bank. Ive looked into cams, plenums, exhaust etc.. But I am relatively new to these motors. Is there anyone out there that has experience with these motors?

I have a 2002 mustang gt
lowered 2 inches
stage 2 clutch (looking to change)
straight piped exhaust:bash:
3.23 gears

all done by previous owner. im looking for hp gains and would like to get more top-end out of this car!

DHG1078

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Established Member
What are you looking to do with the car? what are your end goals? Is it your daily driver? Is it going to be set up for auto-x or drag racing? Budget doesn't always go with a dependable build, but there are some mods that give you a great bang for your buck.

A good set of gears makes a world of a difference. Gears aren't too expensive but labor to install them is. For under 450 hp, your best bet is to add a supercharger like a vortech or pro charger. You can find them fairly easily for cheap and will put you close to 400 rwhp on a good tune. Add an intake manifold, throttle body, you will hit the limit for the bottom end pretty easily.

Some cheap and easy mods (read small gains) are under drive pulleys and an electric water pump.

If your looking to add power, I highly recommend adding full length sub frame connectors and lower control arms. It will help control the car with the extra power. Any suspension/ chassis mods I recommend Maximum Motorsports. Not usually the cheapest, but you can't beat their stuff.

KLeech

2V FTW
Established Member
Put a stock clutch back in that thing. My car went 2 years of being N/A with many many hard shifts, and a year of 8psi and the clutch still looked fantastic when I took it out last week for my trans swap.

DHG1078 is on the right track with those questions. And why would someone put 3.23 gears in a gear that had a 3.27 rear gear stock?

DHG1078

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Established Member