2001 Cobra Engine Removal From the Top

GottaBeA4V

Established Member
Hey everyone! Been lurking in here for about 3 years now. I finally bought a car, a clean 2001 cobra I payed 2700 for with a locked up motor. I've never done a write up before, so bear with me if I make a few grammatical errors or technological ones, but I can't seem to find a good write up for taking the motor out of the top. I'm going to try and keep updating this thread and taking pictures as I go.

Basic things to do at first:
Disconnect Battery
Drain Oil, Coolant
Pull Wiring Harness
Remove Intake Piping
Remove Midpipe
I pulled off the starter trying to get more clearance. Not sure if required. You'll probably need a swivel.
I removed my transmission, not sure if its required but with as wide as this thing is I'm going to try and make it easier on myself pulling it.
I removed my intake manifold to put the tool in the valley to pull the motor
Up Until this point I haven't really been taking many picture as this is common knowledge stuff. Expect pictures as I get more involved in pulling.
Any questions or suggestions feel free to post up! Thanks.
-Cole

pdm

Established Member
A few will disagree with me but pulling out the top sucks (and putting it back sucks worse). I've pulled mine out just about every way possible, and the easiest way regardless of your available tools is out the bottom. Google this and you will find all you need to know. "site:svtperformance.com engine out bottom"

pdm

Established Member
One thing to watch out for is the body screws sticking out of the firewall. They can tear the heater hoses at the back of pass side head.

GottaBeA4V

Established Member