2,4,6,8# lower pulley?

darknight01

Established Member
im new to the cobra and dont know a whole lot.i put a 2.76 s/c pulley on it and seen everyone is puttina lower pulley on as well.my first question is, is it the crankshaft pulley?and if not what pulley and what # do you use with the 2.76? thanks alot

Posi

Had a blast.
Established Member
Without a ported blower just stay with the 2.76 upper only. Adding a lower worth putting on the car would be a 4lb'er and that's way to much. It'll heat up and the car will pull timing more than likely.

Posi

Had a blast.
Established Member
If he goes with a 4lb lower with that 2.76 upper his hp peak in the rpm's is going to be around 5,300 or even lower than that. After that the hp will fall off very quickly and it won't carry it out.

So if someone wants to build a lot of heat and shift at about 5,400-5,600 rpm's then put a 4lb lower on it. If it's put on a dyno then what I said will be seen.

BBCOBRA

Established Member
I can testify to that.
I have a 2.76 upper and when on the dyno for the typical 3 pulls it would give very close numbers with in 1-2 hp from the first pull to the third pull

After adding the 2# lower (I have no port yet) I saw a drop of about 3 to 5 hp from the first pull to the third pull. So, the 2# puts it right at that edge.

When I get it ported I plan to go with the 4# lower.

Last edited:

moddedmystic

Established Member
I guess it depends on the OP's goals for the car and plans for future mods. Either way you'll love all the extra torque you'll get with a lower.
After modding my car since early 2004 with everything I've learned, I'd save my money and get a 2.3 whipple. Lots of power and great resale for the car. Just my .02
:beer:

pb1302

Established Member
Get a WHIPPLE.... you will run out of fun juice in that Eaton...

cobrasvt57

Established Member