'13 GT500 new clutch recommendations? (Dealer says mine has failed)

nhs156

Established Member
I'm astounded that my car, which has practically been babied since purchase new in '13, now has a worn clutch. Never seen a race track. Never seen a drag strip. I found out as I had the local dealership investigate 2 separate noises, including what we thought was a chassis/suspension squeak. I won't bore you with the details, but the dealership authorized a tear down of the clutch and is now telling me it's in bad shape - "hot spots" all over, issue with the pressure plate, slave cylinder etc. Honestly, I'm not technically-inclined and have no idea what all this means other than I apparently need a new clutch. They offered to have me look at it - but as I have no idea what I'd be looking at, that seems pretty darned pointless.

The tech was telling me that the issue was using it as a daily driver - now that it has 21K miles on it. "Stop'n go kills the clutch", he said. "You can't drive it like a regular stick shift. You have to drop the clutch quickly in traffic - leaving a big gap between you and the car in front in traffic so that you can lunge forward." What absolute bollocks! As someone who's driven manual transmissions for 25 years and has never had a clutch issue, this floored me.

Anyway, I have little faith in the standard Ford clutch now. If these guys want to install another, I'm thinking I should have them install something that lasts longer/works better. Any recommendations beyond the standard GT500 clutch? Dealership suggested I go with theirs for warranty reasons - which made me laugh out loud: they wouldn't honor it anyway, methinks.

Thoughts?

Snoopy49

Established Member
Are they going to cover the clutch under warranty?

From the 2013 Warranty Manual.

Extended warranty coverage periods are available for certain vehicle parts and conditions. Specifically,