03/04 Cobra Stock Heads

Dfresh15

Banned
I'm a noob to this Termi world. Been wanting one for many years and I finally have the money to get one. While doing some research I'm hearing about the possibilities of a TICK in the Driver's Side Head with these cars. Does ALL 03-04 Stock Cobra Heads have the same cooling and TICK potentials? Also I heard the 03's have 4 threads for spark plugs and 04's have 9 threads. So my question is should I lean more towards buying an 04' Cobra?? Or is the 03' just as good and reliable?? I have no plans on putting big power into this motor. Wanted to leave it mainly stock. Thanks

GodStang

Established Member
There was a great write up back in the day from Livernois I think it was about the 4 or 5 changes the heads went through in 03, 04, and finally 05. If you are not going big power I would not worry about the thread count as it was not as a big of a problem as the 2V had. As far as the tick if it has not had it by now pretty sure it will never get. Just make sure you get the car looked at before you buy it if you are worried.

cj428mach

Established Member
As far as the tick if it has not had it by now pretty sure it will never get. Just make sure you get the car looked at before you buy it if you are worried.

I think it has more to do with mileage than time.

My 03 had 7500 miles on it when I bought it 2 years ago, within 1000 miles the head tick was there.

I'm a firm believer in the head cooling mod now, and I suggest using e85 if turning up the power as it helps keep everything cool. I'm pretty sure my head tick started after playing with 600rwhp on gasoline, no head cooling mod, stock thermostat on a 100+ degree day. Probably the perfect recipe for getting the head tick lol.