01 Cobra, newbie questions

BigRigTech

Blue blooded
Established Member
My name is Stu - I'm a truck and transport mechanic, I bought an 01 Coupe yesterday...It was sold new in Florida and brought into Canada about a year ago...107,000 miles....Runs and drives like a new car....One run to the rev limiter in 2nd gear and I was hooked....:rockon:I have a 63 Mercury Meteor that I built into a restomod, but after 12 years I'm tired of it so I put it for sale and talked my wife into letting me by this until it sells.:bowdown:...I'm a dyed in the wool, hopeless, blue blooded Ford man. This is my 1st Mustang though.

I haven't had a chance to go over this thing from top to bottom yet - that's happening today. The car has a brand new Flowmaster exhaust, x-pipe, no cats but no check engine light on...Is there a way to cheat the 02 sensors???? I was going to hook up my scanner today to see what they are reading. Technically I need Cat's for inspection but I'm going to call a buddy who inspects all our vehicles to see if he will re-sticker it with a new MVI without the cats....Worst case I will buy two small high flow cats and put them in the pipe for decoration.;-)....It also has a cold air intake, I'm not sure what it is so I want to look at it closer today.

The clutch is stiff and very high to engage, it has the stock cable setup...What is the preferred brand for an adjustable quadrant? I want to put long tube headers on this winter, who has the best fit and how hard is it to install long tubes on these DOHC engines? Is a hoist needed?

007-2.jpg

001-4.jpg

010-1.jpg

004-5.jpg

Last edited:

TBCobra

Established Member
Premium Member
Beer Money Bros.
Congrats on the Cobra. :)

As for the CEL, you can buy MIL Eliminators which plug into your oxygen sensors and trick your computer into thinking everything is fine with your cats.

You can turn your CEL off with a hand held tuner but it will most likely come back on.