detailed the car, write up and pictures included

66temp

Established Member
Hey guys, well to begin with this is my first time with a "serious" detail, the car only has 3800 miles on it and still smells new but there were moderate swirls and some water spots on the roof/trunk lid, I finally bought all my new products and here they are

e9e23129.jpg

well my first step was a wash, I did NOT need to clay it due to the fact that I clayed the car about 2 weeks ago, and well then, then I started experimenting, given that this was MY FIRST time using the PC and any real products, It took me a while to get the hang of things but i was pleased with my results, I found that 4500 RPM on the PC with the light orange pad with Optimum compound, would take out most swirls by moving slow, letting the PC do the work, and going back over the worked section twice, then after the coat of compound, I moved to a white pad, with the optimum polish, turned it up to about 5000 rpm, buffed it real nice, (all products were removed by hand), after this I applied a coat of my Poorboys EX sealent with Caranuba, which by the way I was extremely pleased with, went on smooth, came off easy, shone real nice and feels as soft as glass!!! here are a few pictures

my work station
dfa358d9.jpg

some before/afters , here is an area on the hood
81fcf56b.jpg

after
35c61365.jpg

area on the rear quarter window section
66fa0187.jpg

after
27585bee.jpg

and a few finished shots of the car
2bbf0d56.jpg

0b6f55ff.jpg

2eb5a574.jpg

9a9347d9.jpg

Overall I'm very pleased with the way the car turned out, no more swirls, very soft, the poorboys ex with caranuba was awesome and is supposed to last a long time, and I love the porter cable, its extremely nice, and very easy to use :alk

crizzut

Established Member