• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Xcal2 Not Responding - Fuse for OBDII?

Discussion in 'Turbo Cobras' started by 04SilverSerpent, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. 04SilverSerpent

    04SilverSerpent ZTP Established Member

    Messages:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Location:
    DFW TX
    My XCal2 decided to just all of a sudden not connect to the car. It worked for a split second and then turned off. I verified that it still works by plugging it up to my PC and all was good. Is there a fuse that could have blown? I've been told to check the cig lighter fuse, but that was good to go.
    Thx,
     
  2. TRBO VNM

    TRBO VNM Authorized Vendor Authorized Vendor

    Messages:
    23,096
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    check the cars manual for fuses and locations.
     
  3. 04SilverSerpent

    04SilverSerpent ZTP Established Member

    Messages:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Location:
    DFW TX
    I did..didn't see anything specifically for OBDII. It was working fine previously so not sure why it would have cutoff like that unless it was a fuse.
     
  4. Justin@VMP

    [email protected] Authorized Vendor Authorized Vendor

    Messages:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    probably bad obd2/cig fuse
     
  5. 04SilverSerpent

    04SilverSerpent ZTP Established Member

    Messages:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Is there a different cigarette fuse besides the one in position 1 per the diagram? My cigarette lighter is working fine. I plugged in my cell charger and it worked perfectly :(

    Was told it's fuse #31...anyone with a manual handy can confirm?

    Well, it's pin #31 which is data link connector. I'll check that out when I get home...hopefully that's it. Just a 10amp fuse. Anyone had this happen before. Usually I don't connect the xcal2 with the key even in the off position, but I think I did this time...not sure if that had anything to do with it or not since it wasn't in the "On" position.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2008
  6. TRBO VNM

    TRBO VNM Authorized Vendor Authorized Vendor

    Messages:
    23,096
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    connecting it with it on or off is fine.

    BTW, I had a similar issue and I hate to say it, but it was a ground. i found the problem by luck. a previous shop f'ed up a ground wire up by the battery and used a butt connector to reconnect the ground wire, which they did not crimp it properly, so the wire came out.

    if you have something similar, wiring is a nightmare to track down.
     

Share This Page