Which Exhaust for 2011 GT?

BlackStang 5.0

Established Member
I just helped my neighbor buy his 5.0 on friday, and now he's entrusting me to select an exhaust for him. I'm a former motorcycle mechanic and have been working on his bike for him. I'm also a car fiend, but typically have been more into the import scene. I have to admit this new 5.0 has me wanting to ditch my 2008 civic Si! Finally, a mustang that out of the box, the import guys can respect and froth over. Managed to get $1k off MSRP for a GT Premium manual trans with Brembo pkg, 3:73 gears, and the comfort pkg(which we didn't need, but supply was tight here in San Diego). Probably only 12 GT's in San Diego, all Premiums which is what we wanted

Anyway, not a lot of exhaust options out there yet, but looking at Magnaflows stuff. Can't decide between axle back mufflers($650), axle-back muffler delete with tips($469), or cat-back with mufflers($750-$800). He wants to hear it rumble, but not piss off the neighbors/cops. My manager at work has a 2008 Shelby GT500 with muffler delete and it sounds awesome. My other co-worker did a muffler delete on his 2003 GT and it also sounds fine....not too loud. Bearable IMO. Haven't gotten under the new car yet to peek at what it's got for resonators. What do you guys think? Still want to be able to enjoy the stereo when cruising and use the bluetooth. Are the muffler delete's going to be too loud? I told him to try the muff deletes and if it's too loud, we could always sell them for a small loss. I'm afraid if we play it safe, it won't be loud enough:shrug: