What Next?

AnarchyVA

Established Member
Hello. Allow me to introduce myself.

My name is Chris. I'm not new to the Mustang scene. I'm on V8 Mustang #5. However I am new to the Cobra scene. I picked up a 2003 black convertible with 25,000 miles on it two weeks ago. I love it. She's beautiful. But I've run into a few kinks since bringing it home. Kinks that I am trying to iron out.

I've replaced the convertible top cylinders and hoses. I have a vibration in the front end that I need to chase down. I've already aligned it and balanced all wheels. I'm thinking it may be in the tie rods and/or bearings.

And today, while swapping pullies/plugs I found that the plug well for cylinder #8 has quite a bit of corrosion and debris down inside of it. I changed out plugs 1-7 but stopped at 8 for fear of removing it and the debris falling inside of the cylinder.

What I need your help with is:
  • Is this a sign of a larger, possibly catastrophic problem? Or is it mostly cosmetic, once cleaned up? I believe the corrosion came from the engine bay being power washed and water seeping in under the coil cover.
  • How do I get this cleaned up? I want to get that plug out but I can't until it is clean. I've already sprayed compressed air in the well but it didn't do too much.
  • Would it be a big deal if I drove with the TR6 plugs in 1-7 and the stock plug in 8?

Here are pics of the car and the situation with spark plug #8.

IMG_10601_zps1kzobwwy.jpg

IMG_1059_zpscxrnjtdj.jpg

IMG_11921_zps9iwku14r.jpg

IMG_1208_zpsd8of94di.jpg

Please help!!!

This weekend it is 75 degrees out. I just fixed the top last night. I was hoping to have some fun cruising around today with the top down and with a new pulley. Now I fear that that something bad is going on.

Thank you!!!

MG0h3

Established Member
Id use a pick or some small flat screwdriver and try and break it up and get it out of there. Gonna be tedious but you gotta get it outta there.

oldmodman

Established Member