What causes TOB squeel?

efnfast

Established Member
When I was replacing my squeeling TOB (~15k miles on it) I couldn't help but wonder why it's such a problem with cobras? My retaining sleeve was fine (swapped it anyways), but the thing I noticed with the old bearing that there was slightly more slop in it than the new one (i.e., I could wiggle it around more, not to mention that when I spun it by hand, I could hear it squeeling lightly)

Are these just bad parts that Ford is using? I cna't think of any other explanation - I studied my clutch adjustment and my TOB is not spinning if I'm off the clutch, so it isn't an adjustment issue :shrug:

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
15k miles, wish I got that much. Mine when out at a tenth of that (1500 miles). I'm trying something I saw another guy did on my next one. Instead of having it ride on the pressure plate fingers all the time, I'm going to use a magnet return (hard drive magnets are very powerful) to let it float when I'm not pressing on the clutch. As far as I herd, Ford's TOB's are the best. I was using a RAM TOB that came with my clutch as a kit.

SnakeBit

Mid-Life Crisis my ass!
Established Member
In order for Ford's self adjustment to work, the TOB must ride on the pressure plate. That means it is spinning all of the time the engine is running. To fix that, you must pull the POS 2 pc quadrant and replace it with a solid quadrant. That also requires a firewall adjuster and some minor trimming of the clutch cable at the firewall. However, even with that the TOB will still ride against the pressure plate.

Many of us have used the LDC Freeplay Spring. This spring forces the clutch arm back (along with the TOB clipped to it), away from the pressure plate as long as you adjust it correctly at the firewall.