Understanding draw-through MAF systems with centri

40th GT

Established Member
So I installed a 10% OD crank pulley for my Vortech V1 setup, and it's currently not tuned for that. For obvious reasons I have not attempted to see what the new boost level is, but I noticed while datalogging I have LTFTs climbing to 1.25 on both banks and they quickly settle closer to 1.0 as soon as revs are raised. I've checked all vacuum lines, intake manifold bolts and throttle body bolts/gasket for leaks. There were two evap lines coming out of the charcoal canister that looked suspect so I replaced those. Car no longer smells like fumes but the LTFT behavior hasn't changed. Short term trims average right at 1.0. It's not giving me any codes. The only symptom is this high LTFT.

My question is, since the supercharger discharge is after the MAF, did I induce unmetered air by changing pulley sizes? This is my first time working with draw through systems so sorry for the noobish question but I want to understand fundamentals.

robvas

Established Member
You didn't change much by changing pulley sizes. If it ran before, it should run now. Are you overrunning the MAF?

What do you mean your supercharger discharge is after the MAF? Any (compressed) air that comes out of the blower, comes through the inlet of the blower so it has gone through your MAF already.

40th GT

Established Member
I was also thinking the MAF needs to be rescaled because MAF counts were at 850 at 5500rpm. I didn't take it any further.

Sorry for the weird wording. I was thinking since the blower is blowing air after the MAF, that amount of air is unmetered. But you're saying it's the same amount of air compressed so it's metered.

I have to figure out where this vacuum leak is. o_O

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
the blower is still spinning faster at all rpms, therefore drawing more across the maf at any given rpm.