Turbocharge my 01 Cobra ?

01 Cobra #1326

Established Member
Hey everyone,

I recently contacted a company out of Roswell, NM called HP Performance (www.turbochargedpower.com) who is building Turbo kits. They have been featured in MM & FF magazine, as well as Hot Rod and a few others. I inquired about a Turbo kit for my 2001 Cobra and their response was that the 4V kit had not yet been developed and that they would be interested in using my car for the project. After speaking with them for the past week, the arrangement we have come to is that I will buy the kit ($ 5000), and the installation, fabrication, and tuning would be free. The main parts of the kit include a T-66 turbo, intercooler, full tubular front suspension, fuel injectors and 03 cobra pump, custom headers and exhaust, MAF, battery relocated to trunk, and an Autologic chip.
This seems like a great setup to me, but I am new to the turbo world. I am also leary of shipping my car 1500 miles away to be worked on (Michigan to New Mexico) and not being able to drop by to observe progress and ask questions. Also, what if something were to go wrong on the dyno and now my car is 1500 miles away and needs a motor as well. I don't mind if I blow it up, or If I am there when it happens, but if someone else does, and I don't even know what happened, what happens then ? It's not that I don't trust them, I just don't know them. After speaking with them so far they seem reputable and knowledgable, and I have nothing bad to say, but has anyone else been to their shop, had work done there, or know someone who has ? I would really appreciate a good debate of pros and cons on what I should do. Send my car away or let someone else be the first and purchase my kit at a later date ?
BTW, this offer is still good so if anyone has no hesitation and is willing to jump in head first, feel free to contact them and offer up your Cobra.

Thanx in advance,

Brian

Tired

Needs 4 more cylinders.
Established Member