Turbo Vs. Super...thoughts?

mmarraccini325

Established Member
Hey guys, have been thinking about this lately and wanted some expert insight. So I was wondering about the pro and cons of running either setup. Am looking to get around 450 BHP or so. And am wondering if turbo or blower is the way to go. Is one better for engine life, performance , ease of maintenance ? Feel free to say anything as all I know is what I have read, and looking for some personal testimonials. Anything would be greatly appreciated as I am brand new to forced induction, and any kind of builds in general. Thanks and have a great day.

HFBPA889

BOOST MAKES ME HAPPY!!!
Established Member
This question has been asked so many times. All your answers can be found with the search function of this forum. There is alot to consider. What's your budget $$$ for the build. What type of platform (2v,4v,built motor, displacement), compression, intake, etc..etc..etc. What are your goals for the build street, race, or both. As far as what setup is better, I think there is no doubt from my experience and I am no expert, my turbo setup is far superior to my blower setup.

Performance wise...I mean don't get me wrong, I loved the supercharger for the violent low end torque it produced for fun on the street, but there is nothing like the feeling of the turbos spooling up. The power up top is awesome and from 3k RPM to redline it just feels like you're going to eventually end up in the backseat from pulling so hard.

Engine life definitely goes to turbo setup. There is no or very little parasitic loss vs. losing 100+hp to just turning the blower. This also in return allows you to run lower boost levels but maintain the same hp (less stress on internals). Boost levels can be changed with a flick of your finger with your boost controller (no pulley swaps). No more heat soak and loss of power between runs at the track.