tuning e85 in winter?

vic_s197

Established Member
I'm wanting to get my car retuned sometime in the next month, I'm running an f1a at 18-20 psi and 13 degrees of timing on my 05 gt and putting down 691 rwhp at 6000 rpm. I want to get more Out of it cuz I'm running out of gear at the end of the track . But I'm trying to figure out if I should wait to re tune it in the spring or should I go ahead and do it now? This is my first time working with e85 so I wanna make sure I do it right. And iv heard from some guys say cars running on e85 tend to run like shit in the cold weather is that true?

9BABCobra8

Established Member
I am no expert on e85...

The first thing you should do is test your ethanol content of the blend. This will vary by location. The winter blend for Minnesota will differ from the Houston winter blend. This will be important to understand where you want your AFR to be. The minimum content from what I have read can be anywhere from 51% to 70% ethanol. Usually, from the summer to winter blend you will just run slightly rich. Now tuning for winter and going to the summer blend you could result in a lean condition.

Taken from:
E85 Mustangs.com - Tuning for E85