To tune myself or seek a tuner?

Dilley

Established Member
Now before we start I understand the opinions in here well be biased. Now for some back info, I previously lived in NJ and the car was tuned by Kevin Hand through an sct livewire. The car runs flawlessly, but now I live 700 miles away in Indy. I am ready to add a 4# lower and e85 to my ported Eaton BF 2.76 accufab 80s setup. I really do not want to shell out money every time I change something. My buddy has a 600+whp Integra all built and tuned himself (vids if anyone wants to see) who willing help me tune it myself. He has shown me how easy it is to tune for driveability with a tune on the fly style software, so that's something to consider. So what's your thoughts? Sct prp? Moates quarterhorse? Just sack up and pay someone?

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
I've been using PRP for a few years. I'm happy with it. Like anything else it can be a bit of a pain at times, but I've saved a lot of money with all the changes I've made to the car.

Dilley

Established Member
I've been using PRP for a few years. I'm happy with it. Like anything else it can be a bit of a pain at times, but I've saved a lot of money with all the changes I've made to the car.

The main concern I have with that is the lack of tune in the fly ability.

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
I do wish I had that ability. But I guess I'm used to doing the datalogs and tweaking the tune later on.

Kevin @ Wicked

Established Member
That's why I think if anything if go moates quarterhorse