Tint!!

jasoncb07

Established Member
pros and cons on 5% tint on rear window and side louvers? will be 20% on driver and passenger windows and a 32% strip across the top of the windshield. sound good or bad? not seeing out the back glass doesn't bother me.

noldevin

Established Member
Pros? Car will stay cooler inside in the summer. Looks good (except the windshield strip, imo)
Cons? Cops might bother you depending on location. 20% and 5% are illegal in Alablama (you are allowed max 32%)

jasoncb07

Established Member
yes I know its illegal but I know the majority of the cops in my area as im a firefighter. not worried about that too much. the car will stay cooler which is a huge plus but what is the drivability of essentially blacking out the back window and the small side windows?? does driving become dangerous??

04snakie

Established Member
^This. Also to me, it sucks trying to look out your 5% window at night and see nothing but your reflection lol. If you have dark interior 20%(18) will be dark enough. I have 20% on back of my car with 35% on the sides and I think it complements the theme well.

paulyboy928

Established Member
I don't think you'll have that big of a problem with cops. I have 20% on the doors are rear windshield. Whatever you do, make sure you get the ceramic tint! It makes a huge difference in the temperature of the inside. If the shop you like doesn't have it, find a shop that does. You won't regret it.

noldevin

Established Member
My car isn't tinted but I have driven cars with dark rear tint at night. I didn't like it, was very difficult to see.

t660

Established Member
Really depends if you're the type of person that can utilize your side mirrors alone and be fine with it. I drive a truck for a living so my rear view gets ignored out of habbit. 5% for me is no problem, plus it's legal where I live.