Thinking of making a career change - LEOs Only

J.T.

Established Member
I have always wanted to be involved in law enforcement and am now considering making the move as my current career is not rewarding anymore. The question I have is that I am 34 almost 35 and would like some honest opinions on whether or not this is too old to start a career in law enforcement. I will say that I am in as good of shape as I was 10 years ago and I know the physical requirements will not be a problem at all but am more concerned with performing the job 15-20 years down the road. Most police departments in my area have a cutoff at 36 so the time is now or never. I just wanted some feedback to see if you all could see yourselves starting at this age or if any of you have. Although I have been out for awhile I am a 6 year Navy veteran where I had regular weapons and tactical training as a member and trainer for the shipboard security force but have no actual law enforcement experience. I appreciate any and all advice.

Thanks

cemeflybyu

Press hard, 5 copies...
Established Member
I lost my job a little over a year ago. I was a regional account manager for CitiMortgage. I will be 35 in a month and was a lazy tub of lard. I started running everyday, working out, got hired last october, lost 54 pounds and graduated the academy in the top 5 of my class.

So far other than the fact that I make less than half of what I used to make....I love it. It was the job I always wanted to do but made too much money to quit and start doing. The mortgage meltdown just helped put everything in place, 1/2 of what I was making is better than 100% of being unemployed!!!