Talking about tire shine and tire damage

nxhappy

Established Member
ok so today I was talking to this guy, he claimed tire shine or tire dressing causes tires to crack and get damaged. I have been shining tires for 20 years with all sorts of products. I think this guy doesn't know WTF he's talking about. I have NEVER damaged my tires in such manner and have been doing it for a long time. What are your thoughts.

Ohio Snake

Established Member
Water based shine is probably best, but does not last as long as petroleum or solvent based shines. Petroleum or solvent based last longer, but I have seen a buildup of gunk on the tire which could cause some cracking.
Personally, I clean the tires when washing to get a fresh surface...no issues here.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ToddW702

Established Member
I’ve been using some form of tire shine for 25 years with no issues. I put 60,000 miles in about three years on some tires they were shiny the whole time no cracks. I think it is age and sun that does it. When I lived in Vegas my mother-in-law parked her car outside and the drivers side tire which got sun all day needed to be replaced before the other two because they were cracking.

Sent from my iPhone using svtperformance.com

BlksvtCobra01

Deplorable and Proud
Established Member
The only issue I’ve had is yellowing of the tire with a certain tire shine. I quickly tossed it and went back with Meguiars or Black Magic.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

08mojo

Established Member
Water based shine is probably best, but does not last as long as petroleum or solvent based shines. Petroleum or solvent based last longer, but I have seen a buildup of gunk on the tire which could cause some cracking.
Personally, I clean the tires when washing to get a fresh surface...no issues here.

You're on the right track. If the shine contains petroleum distillate solvents, it may cause damage to the tire over time.