SN95 rear suspension options- Mild to wild?

CJK440

Established Member
I bought my Cobra from a fellow that wanted to go drag racing. I bought it to drive hard on the street and perhaps give AutoX a shot.

I'm a noob when it comes to chassis setup for the turns and figured this might be the most appropriate forum to get my questions answered.

Recently I did a little poking around on the web to educate myself and found that I need to ditch my drag race rear control arm setup ASAP. I have UPR pro arms with spherical balls on all ends including the axle housing. No compliant bushings at all.

I promptly installed stock rubber bushings in the axle housing to get some compliance for a little cruise this weekend and have a set of low mile stock uppers en-route that I will be installing next week. I'm thinking I might be able to get away with keeping the UPR pro lowers even though they only have heim joints on the chassis side and a rigid tube on the axle end. Maybe I am wrong.

It will be interesting to see how the stock uppers make the car handle on the street. The car is pretty darn sensitive to any imperfection and I wonder if the solid arms are the culprit.

Anywho, I got this far by poking around by myself but what I need help understanding is where do I go from here? I read about a PHB with a PM3L but as I understand it, not the best in the streetable durability dept.

The next option I see for the SRA is a torque arm and PHB or Watts link. Seems like one of if not the best route to go but where does IRS fit into the equation??

From what I understand, I can drop $1300 for a TA and PHB and keep my beefed up SRA or I can find a cobra owner who wants to go drag racing who's interested in my fully modified SRA setup in place of a their IRS setup. With luck my SRA to IRS swap would be a wash $ wise.