Should I take a Sales Job at Ford Dealer? MA

yuke175

Established Member
Well I am looking for a entry level sales or marketing job. I interviewed at a Ford Dealer in Massachusetts today. They are number two in the state and 7th in new england as far as performance goes.

They operate on a draw / commission pay structure.

Seems like the flow of customers is higher than average and they have around 11 sales reps currently.

What do you think? Is there money to be made? I am a recent college graduate willing to put in the effort but with the knowledge out there on cars today it seems as if they profit margin on commission can be taken away.

Looking for honest opinions... Thanks

Broke

Established Member
My thoughts. If they push high volumes of cars then the salesmen are making good money. With commission, I suspect that it's fairly cut throat especially for a new person walking in. And if your selling cars, know your stuff. Same with waiting tables, gotta get people to trust you.

I say go for it.

czwalga00gt

Rx7 Soul Destructor
Established Member
After spending 3 days at a ford dealer last week helping my gf buy a car.... i'd say HELL NO.

Salesmen work shitty shitty hours... and you're basically lying to people all day long. But I guess it depends on your money situation.

SBTerminator

Established Member
My first Sales Job was at one of the Largest Ford stores in the Chicagoland area back in 2000. I was there when the "New" Thunderbird came out. We were selling them for $10, 000 over MSRP. I have made a lot of money since then in this field. Yes the hours are long, but if you want to be successful here are some tips for you:

Always ask for referrals. Always!
Spend MORE time showing them a vehicle and doing a proper demonstration, you will spend less tine negotiating. Have fun, but don't be ignorant.