Seeking Experienced and Reputable shop to rebuild my Diff - Syracuse, NY

ebdyguy

Established Member
As title states I am looking for a shop with experience rebuilding the Aluminm case 8.8 differential for my Cobra. Doing a gear swap and most likely freshen up all the bearings and seals.

I have done steel units and SRA years ago, but don't have the spreader and other unique tools for doing the aluminum case version. I live in close proximity to Syracuse and would like to find a place that can do this besides the local dealer.

Thanks

Wallace7666

Established Member
Hey, I'm from cuse too! I actually just rebuilt my rear end, but im also SRA. Im not sure how much the irs housing differs but I have the majority of the tools required, im also no expert by any means. My buddy is building a TT cobra and he swears by a place in Rochestor for rear ends, they did his. Im not sure what its called ill have to ask him.

ebdyguy

Established Member
That would be great ! Rochester is a bit far - but please post the name & number just in case. The aluminum IRS requires a few more tool - primarily a case spreader to remove and install the diff unit. Plus the bearing tools for the stub shaft bearings and maybe a couple others. I would really like to find someone good in or near Syracuse - but Rochester isn't totally out of the question.

Wallace7666

Established Member
The place is called RJ profab. Honestly, I dont know of any place local that I would trust with these cars. That reminds me, do you get your car tuned around here? Im looking for a tuner

ebdyguy

Established Member