Samurai Swords

Dr. Gonzo

We're in Bat Country
Established Member
Premium Member
My grandfather was a Marine and was stationed in the Pacific during WWII. He passed away at the age of 94 and as part of his estate, I inherited (2) samurai swords. My uncle, who had them in his possession for years, said the swords were taken off of Japanese officers.

My question is, how can I determine if these are real Japanese samurai swords or replicas? They have been wrapped in plastic for what seems like 15+ years and I have no reason to doubt the story but I have no experience in these weapons and have no way of knowing if they were purchased from a souvenir store. The swords and their sheaths are in pretty rough shape but if they are real, I would like to get them restored.

If these picture are too crude I can take better ones.
15i56b5.jpg

2iqbp69.jpg

ctago.jpg

rtkm7d.jpg

21llque.jpg

2rpd37k.jpg

14e2lur.jpg

angd5k.jpg

Last edited:

Silverstrike

It's to big to move FAST!
Established Member
Sounds to me to be either officers or NCO mass produced types made during the war,

Like Sid said pictures would be a plus as then it could be determined on just who made them and during what time frame.

Dr. Gonzo

We're in Bat Country
Established Member
Premium Member
I was able to pull off the handle of one of the swords and there was a making.

I'll definitely post of pictures later today.

Corbic

Established Member
Premium Member
WWII "Samurai" Officer swords where generally mass produced - much like modern US Marine Mameluke Swords.

In some rare cases the swords could have been family heirlooms.

Here is a good link to start reading up -

http://quanonline.com/military/military_reference/japanese/japanese.html

Even if they are not monetaraly valuable, hang on to them. I bought an excellent condition Arisaka Type 99 off a kid in college for $70. His Grand Father kept it after "Growdell Canal" (Guadalcanal).

Beautiful rifle, 1940 build date. Kid made my stomach turn.