Register Car in Different State Than Purchased?

mjohns930

Established Member
I am buying a new car in the coming weeks and I live in California but I am a Wisconsin resident. I would like to register the car in WI even though the purchase will take place in CA. Is something like this possible to do at the time of sale?

Thanks for any help on this.
Mitch

VirtualSVT

lolololololololololol
Established Member
No. You'll transport back to your home state and register there. And pay taxes again probably.

oldmodman

Established Member
It is possible to escape the incredibly high California sales tax.
But the DMV makes it extremely complicated.

The car has to be purchased outside of Ca.

It has to be driven quite a few miles before entering Ca. I think it is now 6K.

And here is where the DMV usually manages to screw you. It can NEVER have entered Ca. before it is registered here.

I have imported several new cars from Germany. It is very easy to do if you buy them from a US dealer in another state. I used a dealer in Oregon (no sales tax). Then I drove across Oregon into Idaho and then down into Nevada where I parked the car in a friends garage in Vegas. By that time with the driving I did in Europe plus the driving to get to Vegas I had enough miles on it to qualify as a used car exempt from Ca. sales tax.

So I gathered all my gas receipts and original sales paperwork and went to the DMV here in Los Angeles. As soon as I got to the window the DMV rep said "we have to see the car, is it parked outside" I told them no, it's in my garage in Las Vegas. They were visibly disappointed. I was able to show them a trail of gas receipts showing that the car had been driven to Vegas without driving through California. They had no choice but to allow me to register it without having to pay sales tax and a much decreased registration fee. Saved me $5550.00 in sales tax.

Here is the DMV's last spoiler. It has to be six months from the date of purchase too.

GeorgiaSnake