Recommendations on mild mods- '97 Cobra

SN95SVT

Established Member
I was fortunate enough to purchase a low-mileage (5K original) 1997 Rio Red Cobra Coupe with Saddle Cloth interior from the original owner last summer. I have had a number of Mustangs in the past and I have to say that this is one of my favorites. I just don't get why there are other forums (I will not name names)that bash the the SN95 Cobras so I am glad I found this site (I am a newbie!).
I wanted to get a recommendation on a few mild mods I wanted to do to car to improve the overall performance.
Can I get some recommendations on what type of exhaust I should go with? Axle back or cat back? Something throaty but not too loud and no drone!
I would also like a recommendation on a cold air intake and what brands are best
Lastly, can I get some comments on whether I should have the rear-end changed to a 3.55 to improve hole-shot?
I am pretty confident that with these mods the car should be overall better/faster, but I am open to any and all comments.
Thank you very much!! ERIC

mark23svt

Established Member
For exhaust I would go for bassani for what you described. For a cai I would either get a k&n filter ( save cash) or just get a jolt if you really want a cai. As for gears it's up to you I have 4.10 but wished I would have gone with 4.30 if that helps.

SVTCOBRA9629

Established Member