Question about brake pads

blue 07

Established Member
I want to change just the brake pads on my 13 GT500. I can't stand the amount of brake dust I get from the factory pads, especially from the front pads. I'm thinking going to ceramic pads to eliminate the dust factor, what brand should I buy ? I have the factory setup (Brembos) and don't plan on changing the rotors as of now. Any input would help. Thanks.

einehund

Established Member
I've been using the autozone C-max pads on all my cars for the last 10 years. No dust at all. Stops good on the street. I would not use them if you autox or do road courses.

Papaw

Established Member
I'm running the C-Max pads too and am happy with them. Very little dust and they stop just fine.
Autozone may not sound like a top shelf parts supplier but their C-Max pads are first rate.

blue 07

Established Member
^^^ Really, Auto Zone ?? I would not have thought of looking there. I was thinking more like Brembo, Hawk, Baer. I'm open to all suggestions...:??:

Last edited:

barspen

Established Member
Y'all sound like girls talking about your max(i)-pads... LOL!

Now that's funny :rolling:

^^^ Really, Auto Zone ?? I would not have thought of looking there. I was thinking more like Brembo, Hawk, Baer. I'm open to all suggestions...:??:

If you want to spend 3X, Hawk HPS or 5.0 work fine...I've run both. Low dust and very quiet. But for a street pad, you wont notice a difference.

When you start getting into HPDE\Autocross, pad choices become more complex since you might want an aggressive pad (high temp, lots of dust, noisy, stops on a dime) on the weekend and a quiet one (low dust, works good when cold, no noise) the rest of the week. I haven't found/tried a good "in-between" DD\race pad yet and to try it, you will need to fork over some $$. Give Van @ Revan Racing a call or talk to Ken at KNS Brakes for some more expert advice if you wish.

blue 07

Established Member